VGM Playlist #2 – ‘Animation’

This is a series of posts and playlists showing off video game equivalents to the themes of Classic FM’s Saturday Night at the Movies shows

So if last week’s ‘Disaster’ theme was maybe a tad difficult, this week I’ve been given a near open goal – Animation. I’ve decided to go with games that either have a cartoon or anime aesthetic, purposefully avoiding pixel-art games (if only to have something to save for another day…)

The obvious starting place for this week for me was Ni No Kuni. Jo Hisashi is as eponymous to Studio Ghibli music as Nobuo Uematau is to Final Fantasy and I was a little disappointed to find that once again he didn’t make it into the Hall of Fame, given his body of work. His work on Ni No Kuni is one of a few anime-styled JRPGs on this playlist, including the Chopin-inspired score from Eternal Sonata.

Elsewhere, we do find a little bit of Disney in the form of Epic Mickey, which has a brilliantly mischievous soundtrack that compliments its hero very well. We also have a visit to Hyrule (or at least a version of it), a quick run of wonderfully scored and beautiful UbiArt games and a couple of excellent adventure games not called Monkey Island (if only because I couldn’t find a good youtube orchestral version).

I hope you enjoy and once again, I welcome any suggestions and comments on my selections – considering how often Classic FM do animation specials I could do with all the help I can get!

Leave a Reply

