Microsoft at E3 2015 – notes

So the press conferences have started. I’m not going to go into massive detail on each of them though; instead I’ll be doing a pros and cons list for each. I’ll skip over Bethesda (suffice to say Fallout 4 and Dishonored 2 are in the like column) and we’ll skip straight to Microsoft. I’ve never owned one of their consoles so how did they do in trying to part me with my money?

Minecraft-fuer-HoloLens-1434390914-0-0

Here are my stray observations:

  • Hololens – the potential for this device is amazing. Obviously it’s very Minecraft-centric right now and I’m interested where else they can use it in games but this got me perhaps a little more excited than even VR
  • Rare Replay – The fabled Rare retro collection to celebrate 30 years of the company containing 30 games for $30. Old games, but that’s astonishing value. Yes, I’m tempted.
  • Backwards Compatibility – Microsoft threw down some smack talk to Sony saying that the Xbox One will be able to play 360 games you already own for free, especially after the decidedly anaemic PS Now
  • Lack of new Xbox One exclusive IP – There was Recore which looks interesting and a pirate shared world MMO from Rare but other than that, nearly all newly announced games are coming to Windows 10 as well. We’ll have to wait until Gamescom to see if this is a common trend
  • The focus on 1st party titles was a refreshing change though – barely any 3rd parties on stage and not a single mention of Call of Duty. One of my least favourite thing about the console manufacturer’s conferences is the 3rd party push so this was very welcome
  • Rise of the Tomb Raider is still marked as “Exclusive Holiday 2015”, not console or Xbox One exclusive – that will fuel rumours.
  • Cuphead looks even better than it did before. That’s the game I was most excited about I think
  • The most ridiculous part – the Ford GT. Lowered from the ceiling, only to be raised back up 20 seconds later in front of the screen showing off Forza 6, all backed by sexy jazz. Pointless – didn’t learn anything about the game with that.
Leave a Reply

