Let’s Play – Official UK Playstation Magazine Demo Disc 22

Recently I went a bit nostalgic and waxed lyrical about how much I enjoyed old demo discs, and how they broadened my horizons and made me a bit more open minded when it came to different styles of games . It was great to shout out to the world about how great these things were and I thought that would be it. However, something happened – independent of rational thought, I seem to have gone out and bought in 40+ old PS1 demo discs  in what I can only describe as a rose-tinted rampage.

This was fine until they started arriving through my letterbox, disc by disc, slow taking over a whole shelf in my back room – now the nostalgia had waned slightly, what was I meant to do with them now? Well, you can probably already guess the answer as I decided to use all these demos to try out my very first Let’s Play series, mixing a retrospective 2010s view with my own reminiscing of games in days gone by.

With that in mind, here’s the fruits of this experiment and my very first commentary video – the Official UK Playstation Magazine Demo Disc 22, all the way from August 1997. Let me know what you think, and if there are any tips you have for me as an LP newbie – I’m tempted by writing a mini-companion article for the site for each disc as well with some quick footnotes on each game, but we’ll see how it goes with the first few.

Demo Disc 22 (August 1997) contents:
Riot
Rayman
Jonah Lomu Rugby
Fade to Black
Soul Blade (trailer)
Time Crisis (trailer)

Leave a Reply

